

# Sugar Maple Nature School Meeting Agenda

#### **Date and Time**

Thursday, August 14, 2023 at 6pm at Tellos Grill & Cafe, 200 W Grand Ave, Downstairs Party Room, Port Washington, WI 53074

**Attendance:** Brian Fortney, Adam Eader, Diane Abbey, Korinne Haeffel-Petersen, Michelle Travis, Cindy Raimer, Ryan Reilly, Maureen Hamachek, Joan Beas, Jim Beas, Mlke Hamachek, Joshua Abbey, Laura Foster

This is a meeting of the Sugar Maple School Governance Council in public for the purpose of conducting the School's business and is not to be considered a public community meeting. There is a time for public participation during the meeting as indicated in the agenda. More than 24 hours prior to the meeting, notice of the time, place, date and subject matter of this meeting was posted at the entrance doors at Riveredge Nature Center and the Sugar Maple Nature School. A copy was also posted on the school website and sent to the Northern Ozaukee School District.

### Agenda

- Opening Items
  - A. Call the Meeting to Order
  - B. Record Attendance
  - C. Approval of Agenda
    - 1. Motion to approve agenda: MIchelle Travis
    - 2. Second: Adam Eader
    - 3. Vote: Motion carried unanimously
  - D. Approval of Meeting Minutes
    - 1. 20230824 Special Meeting Minutes
    - 2. Motion to approve minutes: Brian Fortney
    - 3. Second: Diane Abbey
    - 4. Discussion Name mix up by the secretary transcribing the motion to go into closed session. That has been corrected.
    - 5. Vote: Motion carried unanimously with the correction to the minutes
- II. Public Comment
  - A. Pre-Meeting Written Public Comments
- III. Administrators Report
  - **GC Admin Report Sept. 14 2023**
- IV. Meet the GC Members
  - A. Korinne Haeffel Petersen
  - B. Brian Fortney
  - C. Adam Eader

- D. Diane Abbey
- E. Michelle Travis

## V. GC Member Application

- A. Ryan Reilly
- B. Motion to accept Ryan Reilly's petition to join the governance council: Michelle Travis
- C. Second: Diane Abbey
- D. Roll Call Vote:
  - 1. Brian Fortney Ave
  - 2. Adam Eader Aye
  - 3. Diane Abbey Aye
  - 4. Michelle Travis Aye
  - Korinne Haeffel Aye

#### VI. GC Member Renewal

- A. Korinne Haeffel (Petersen)
  - Motion to accept Korinne Haeffel's petition to extend her term on the governance council: Ryan Reilly
  - 2. Second: Adam Eader
  - 3. Discussion Whole three year term
  - Roll Call Vote:
    - a) Brian Fortney Aye
    - b) Adam Eader Aye
    - c) Diane Abbey Aye
    - d) Michelle Travis Aye
    - e) Ryan Reilly Aye
- B. Brian Fortney
  - Motion to accept Brian Fortney's petition to extend his tenure on the governance council: Michelle Travis
  - 2. Second: Ryan Reilly
  - 3. Roll Call Vote:
    - a) Adam Eader Aye
    - b) Diane Abbey Aye
    - c) Michelle Travis Aye
    - d) Ryan Reilly Aye
    - e) Korinne Haeffel Aye

## VII. Governance Council Positions

- A. President Korinne volunteered
- B. Vice-President Ryan volunteered
- C. Secretary Brian volunteered
- D. Finance/Treasurer Michelle volunteered
  - 1. Motion to accept the volunteers to the roles above: Dianne Abbey
  - 2. Second: Adam Eader
  - 3. Roll Call Vote:
    - a) Brian Fortney Aye
    - b) Adam Eader Aye
    - c) Diane Abbey Aye
    - d) Michelle Travis Aye
    - e) Ryan Reilly Aye
    - f) Korinne Haeffel Aye

## VIII. Committee Reports

- A. Financial
  - 1. Financial Overview 2022-2023 Fiscal Year
  - 2. Financial Reports May & June 2023
  - 3. CESA6 will still administer the HR piece, but CESA5 will perform the accounting.

- 4. We are in the midst of our year end audit at the end of our 5 year grant and the end of our fiscal year, don't expect any issues.
- IX. Community Networking
- X. Closing Items
  - A. Adjourn Meeting
    - 1. Motion to adjourn the meeting: Diane Abbey
    - 2. Second: Michelle Travis
    - 3. Vote: Motion passed unanimously.

## **Governance Council (GC) Meetings**

The GC hosts business meetings on the 2nd Thursday of each month, and working meetings the 4th Thursday of the month starting at 6pm.